Points of interest

The font

The beautifully carved coralloid marble font, which is still in use, stands at the west end of the church and dates from around 1380. William Wilberforce, MP for Hull and pioneering abolitionist of the slave trade, is one of many to have been baptised here.

 

The organ

A rare and world-renowned organ, the instrument is unchanged since it was rebuilt by John Compton in 1937-38, retaining some parts dating from the 18th century. With 104 speaking stops and over 4,000 pipes, it is the largest parish church organ in the UK. Come to a recital or a service to experience its inspiring sound.

To see more information on the appeal CLICK HERE


Carvings

The fine oak carvings on the nave pew ends date from the 1840's and were fashioned by local craftsman George Peck, famed for introducing “fine arts” to colonial Australia. The medieval style carvings contain many weird and wonderful sculptures including animals, faces, green men and a carved Imp. Genuine medieval pew ends can be found in the Chancel.

Elsewhere is work by Robert ‘Mousey’ Thompson, including some of his famous mice. Many a child’s visit to the church is made memorable by seeking these out. The adults seem to enjoy the challenge too!

Windows

There are many outstanding examples of stained glass work throughout the church. What Holy Trinity lacks in medieval glass, it more than compensates for in a rewarding range of Victorian and 20th Century glass of the highest quality.

These include two “arts and crafts” windows designed by the world-renowned Walter Crane, which are unrivalled in their class.

Like the rest of the churches of the East Riding, there is scarcely any ancient glass to be found in Holy Trinity. Most of the medieval glass has perished over time. Windows were destroyed during a Zeppelin raid in the First World War and remnants were used to create a unique mosaic window in the South Transept.

There are some very fine 15th and 16th Century roundels in the Vicar’s Vestry which indicates that before the reformation there may have been a substantial quantity of medieval stained glass in the church. Sadly, this vestry is not open to the public without prior arrangement.